About Morocco

Morocco, officially Kingdom of Morocco is a country in northern Africa to the shores of the Mediterranean Sea, the Strait of Gibraltar and the Atlantic Ocean, bordering Algeria and Mauritania. It belongs to the Maghreb countries, which includes Tunisia, Mauritania, Algeria and Libya.

The country was declared independent from France on March 2, 1956. The capital of Morocco is Rabat and the largest city, Casablanca. Other major cities are Fez, Marrakesh, Agadir, Oujda and Tangier.

Morocco is a monarchy and since July 23, 1999 is Mohammed VI the King of Morocco. He became king of the eighteenth-Alaoui dynasty that ruled Morocco since 1666. The national holiday in Morocco on July 30, the day Mohammed VI became king and followed his father Hassan II.

The dominant religion is Islam, but the country also has a small percentage of Christians and Jews. The languages that are spoken are Arabic, Berber (largest population), French and Spanish.

Morocco is a country with a rich and ancient history. Lately, Moroccan tourism and Moroccan economically have grown rapidly.